Mandate

Joe Jack and John is a theatre company that produces original, bilingual, multidisciplinary shows combining video, dance, and the spoken word. Our artistic approach is deeply humanistic and inclusive; our creations represent a social microcosm by integrating professional actors with an intellectual disability or from diverse cultural backgrounds.

We favour devised creation for projects that centre on current social issues. The uniqueness of our artistic teams is as much about aesthetic research as it is about promoting human encounters: we aim to lift up rarely-heard voices; to encourage reflection on contemporary issues; and to move the social conversation forward through art.

 

History

In October 2003, Catherine Bourgeois co-founded JJJ in hopes of creating a different kind of theatre (or at the very least of making it in her own way): politically engaged, performative, and relevant. From 2003 to 2009 she shared the leadership of the company with Amélie Dumoulin, with whom she co-created our company’s first four shows. Together they developed what would become the aesthetic signature of JJJ. Beginning with Quand j’étais un animal (manuel de taxidermie) [When I Was an Animal (Taxidermy Manual)] (2004), they explored devised creation with inclusive casting. During this period, our co-artistic directors were already creating new works centred on socially relevant themes: for example, Go shopping (et fais le mort) [Go Shopping (and Play Dead)] presented at La Chapelle in 2006, tackled the theme of grief with reference to George W. Bush’s speech in the aftermath of 9-11. They also experimented with site-specific pieces, including Ce soir l’Amérique prend son bain [Tonight America Takes Its Bath] at the Bain Mathieu in 2005, and Mimi (myself et tous ceux qui me regardent) [Mimi (Myself and Everyone Who Looks at Me)], presented in an semi-industrial loft in Mile End in 2009. Ever since then, site-specific locations and themes inspired by current events have been major elements of our aesthetic, promoting intimacy with the audience and a sense of heightened theatrical adventure.

At the end of the 2008-2009 season, Amélie Dumoulin left the company to pursue her own literary work and was replaced as Co-Artistic Director by Jean-Pascal Fournier. At this time, we launched the development cycle of Just Fake It (Théâtre Aux Écuries, 2011), the first of our shows to make a significant mark on Montreal’s artistic landscape. The reach of this piece also opened doors for us to travel and to present our work at the regional, national, and international levels. During this same period, we also initiated Les Lundis théâtre [Theatre Mondays], an outreach project aimed at young adults with Down Syndrome, in partnership with RT21/Quebec Down Syndrome. In 2012, Jean-Pascal stepped down from the position of Co-Artistic Director in order to transition into a career in the visual arts. As the president and vice-president of our board respectively, both Jean-Pascal Fournier and Amélie Dumoulin remain associated with our company.

Since the summer of 2012, JJJ has been led entirely by Catherine Bourgeois, who has directed all of our productions. As always, Catherine has surrounded herself with trusted artistic collaborators in order to create pieces such as AVALe [Swallow], (Théâtre Aux Écuries, 2014),  je ne veux pas marcher seul [I Don’t Want to Walk Alone] (Théâtre Aux Écuries, 2015), Abîmés – quatre courtes pièces de Samuel Beckett [Scarred – Four short plays by Samuel Beckett] (Théâtre Denise-Pelletier, 2016) et Dis merci [Say thank you](Espace Libre, 2018). This latest work enjoys unprecedented visibility and brings the company to the Theatre Centre (Toronto), the National Arts Centre (Ottawa), the Cercle Molière (Winnipeg), and Mainz (Germany), in addition to numerous dates in Quebec and the Greater Montreal area. Overall, there will have been 50 performances of this tragicomedy about togetherness!

During the 2019-2020 season, the company proudly moves into a brand new office at Espace Libre, as a resident company of this major centre for theatrical experimentation. It is also an opportunity to improve the welcome of its artists-in-residence: Michael Nimbley and Edon Descollines. Next, Joe Jack and John will present VIOLETTE, a unique experience combining theatre and virtual reality.

Photos : Julie Rousse, Frédéric Bouchard, Glauco, Adrienne Surprenant, Frédérique Ménard-Aubin, Catherine Aboumrad, Charles Lafrance.

Mandat

Joe Jack et John est une compagnie de théâtre performatif, collectif et inclusif empruntant aux vocabulaires des arts visuels et de la danse. Prônant un discours engagé, sa démarche artistique vise à interroger la notion de norme sociale en intégrant, par exemple, des acteurs et actrices professionnelles ayant une déficience intellectuelle ou issues de divers horizons culturels.

La compagnie privilégie l’écriture en collectif basée sur les principes d’autodétermination et de décolonisation, où des questions sociales sont au cœur des œuvres. La singularité de ses distributions concerne autant la recherche esthétique que la rencontre humaine et vise à faire entendre une parole peu écoutée, à faire réfléchir sur des enjeux contemporains et à faire avancer le dialogue de notre société à travers l’art.

 

Historique

En octobre 2003, Catherine Bourgeois cofonde Joe Jack et John avec le désir de faire un théâtre différent, ou du moins de le faire à sa manière : engagé, performatif et percutant. De 2003 à 2009, elle est appuyée à la codirection par Amélie Dumoulin, avec qui elle réalise les quatre premières productions de la compagnie. Ensemble, elles développent le fondement de l’écriture scénique qui caractérise l’œuvre de JJJ. Dès la production de Quand j’étais un animal (manuel de taxidermie) (2004), elles explorent les possibilités d’une distribution atypique et inclusive, ainsi que d’une écriture en collectif afin d’offrir au public une œuvre teintée de voix singulières et inédites. Au cours de cette période, le tandem artistique centre sa création autour de thèmes à résonnances sociales, comme Go shopping [et fais le mort], présenté à La Chapelle en 2006, qui parlait du deuil et faisait écho aux paroles lancées par George Bush au lendemain du 11 septembre. Elles expérimentent aussi via des productions in situ avec Ce soir l’Amérique prend son bain, au Bain Mathieu en 2005, et Mimi (myself et tous ceux qui me regardent), présenté dans un loft semi-industriel du quartier Mile-End en 2009. Dès lors, tant les thèmes s’inspirant de l’actualité que la production in situ apparaissent comme des choix artistiques forts, de par le renouvellement de l’aventure théâtrale et de la proximité qu’elles créent avec le public.

À la fin de la saison 2008-09, Amélie Dumoulin quitte la codirection et est remplacée par Jean-Pascal Fournier. Ainsi débute le cycle de création de Just fake it (Théâtre Aux Ecuries, 2011) qui mènera JJJ à s’établir de manière significative dans le paysage artistique montréalais. Le rayonnement de l’œuvre permet aussi à la compagnie de voyager et de présenter son travail sur les scènes régionale, nationale et internationale. C’est au cours de cette même période que JJJ met sur pied Les Lundis théâtre, un projet de médiation auprès de jeunes adultes ayant la trisomie en partenariat avec le Regroupement pour la trisomie 21 (RT21). En 2012, Jean-Pascal quitte la direction artistique afin de réorienter sa carrière dans le domaine des arts visuels.

Depuis l’été 2012, JJJ est dirigé à part entière par Catherine Bourgeois, qui a signé la mise en scène de l’ensemble des productions de la compagnie. Poursuivant la démarche établie depuis les débuts, elle continue de s’entourer de fidèles collaborateurs artistiques afin de créer; il y a eu AVALe (Théâtre Aux Ecuries, 2014) puis je ne veux pas marcher seul (2015), Abîmés – quatre courtes pièces de Samuel Beckett (Théâtre Denise-Pelletier, 2016) et Dis merci (Espace Libre, 2018). Cette dernière oeuvre bénéficie d’une visibilité sans précédent et amène la compagnie au Theatre Center (Toronto), au Centre National des Arts (Ottawa), au Cercle Molière (Winnipeg), à Mainz (Allemagne), en plus de nombreuses dates au Québec et dans le Grand Montréal. Au total, il y aura eu 50 représentations de cette tragi-comédie sur le vivre-ensemble!

Lors de la 2019-2020, la compagnie emménage avec fierté dans un bureau tout neuf à Espace Libre, en tant que compagnie résidente de ce haut lieu de l’expérimentaion théâtrale. C’est aussi l’occasion d’améliorer l’accueil de ses artistes en résidence : Michael Nimbley et Edon Descollines. Puis, Joe Jack et John y présentera VIOLETTE, une rencontre unique entre théâtre et réalité virtuelle, au printemps 2020.