Note that due to the pandemic of COVID-19, spring performances are postponed. To be informed of the next release dates of VIOLETTE, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here.

Ticket holders for VIOLETTE’s performances have been contacted by email and can find information on the different solutions proposed on the Espace Libre websiteThose who are in a position to do so, can offer their support to the artists and the theatre by waiving this reimbursement.

Photos : Charles Lafrance and Gopesa Paquette

VIOLETTE

Violette welcomes you into her apartment. She invites you – and only you – to enter the privacy of her bedroom… and then, of her imagination. Explore this real-world space as if you were at the home of a friend. Then put on your VR headset… and become the sole witness to the apartment’s untold story: both magical and tragic. Finally, take the headset off: return to real life and a real apartment. You may never look at this world – the one you share with Violette and the rest of us – quite the same way again.

JJJ continues to explore and innovate; this time by developing a novel dramatic form that incorporates the use of virtual reality (VR). VIOLETTE is a site-specific theatrical work for an audience of one, using digital art to offer a new kind of intimate experience. In this piece exploring the theme of abuse, each participant is given the chance to enter one woman’s unique inner world and access her unusual perspective on a reality often experienced by marginalized women.

Postponed, Espace Libre
Duration : 25 minutes

Original Concept/Designer/Director: Catherine Bourgeois
Text: Amélie Dumoulin
Cast: Stephanie Boghen, Tamara Brown, Stéphanie Colle and Anne Tremblay
Costume Designer: Amy Keith
Sound Designer: Éric Forget
Set design assistants : Noémie Avidar and Alizée Millot
Direction of photography/VFX superviser : Sébastien Gros
Compositing/animation : Genevieve Coulombe
Developer : Peter Wilkinson
Editor : Martin Morissette
Integration / consultation Experience RV : UNLTD inc.
Technical direction : Sophie Bergeron
Production coordination : Pénélope Bourque
Translation : Leanna Brodie
Set building : Gauvin Fabrique

The process : You will get to the theatre box office and notify the staff of your arrival. You will then be told where to meet Violette and, at the exact time of your performance, you will get there by using the elevator. Violette will greet you and lead you to a booth where the virtual reality experience will take place. She will talk to you and help you put on the virtual reality headset (which will have been disinfected beforehand). The virtual reality video lasts 17 minutes. At the end, you will remove the headset and will find yourself alone in the booth. You will then leave the booth and the theater by following the indicated path.

Trigger warning/Disclaimer: This work addresses the subject of sexual violence and other abuses that women with disabilities may experience, but there are no graphic scenes of those acts in the video.

Accessibility: VIOLETTE‘s performances are accessible to persons with reduced mobility and wheelchair users. The staff on site will guide you to the adapted washrooms, if needed.

The experience is not available in Langue des signes québécoise (LSQ), nor in American Sign Language (ASL) or through audio-description. You can contact us if you wish to receive the text before the performance or if you have any other questions: info@joejacketjohn.com or 514-279-9821.

For more details and to consult the health warnings, click HERE.

Notez qu’en raison de la pandémie de la COVID-19, les représentations prévues ce printemps sont reportées. Pour être tenu·e au courant des nouvelles dates de diffusion de VIOLETTE, inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre en cliquant ici.

Les détenteur·trice·s de billets des représentations de VIOLETTE ont été contacté·e·s par courriel et peuvent trouver les informations sur les différentes solutions proposées sur le site d’Espace Libre. Celles et ceux qui sont en mesure de le faire, peuvent offrir leur soutien aux artistes et au théâtre en renonçant à ce remboursement.

Photos : Charles Lafrance et Gopesa Paquette

VIOLETTE

Violette vous accueille chez elle. Elle vous laisse pénétrer dans l’intimité de sa chambre, puis dans celle de son imaginaire. Vous seul·e. Entrez dans ce lieu comme chez une amie, placez sur votre tête le casque de réalité virtuelle. Observez un univers de neige et de forêt se déployer devant vos yeux, puis rencontrez cette mystérieuse femme-corneille. Soyez le·a témoin privilégié·e d’un récit caché, un peu magique, plutôt tragique. Retirez le casque, retrouvez la vie réelle. Avec un regard transformé, peut-être, sur ce monde que vous partagez, vous, Violette et les autres.

VIOLETTE est une œuvre de théâtre et de réalité virtuelle pour spectateur·rice unique, qui offre une expérience à la fois intime et novatrice. Par le biais d’un conte abordant le sujet de l’abus, chacun·e est témoin d’une prise de parole singulière face à une réalité souvent éprouvée par les femmes en situation de handicap intellectuel. Une œuvre qui se veut aussi onirique que troublante.

Reporté à une date ultérieure, Espace Libre (Montréal)
Durée : 25 minutes

Idéation, scénographie et mise en scène Catherine Bourgeois
Texte Amélie Dumoulin
Interprétation Stephanie Boghen, Tamara Brown, Stéphanie Colle et Anne Tremblay
Conception sonore Éric Forget
Conception des costumes Amy Keith
Collaboration à la scénographie Noémie Avidar, Alizée Millot
Direction photo / VFX superviseur Sébastien Gros
Compositing / animation Geneviève Coulombe
Développeur Peter Wilkinson
Monteur Martin Morissette
Intégration / consultation Expérience RV UNLTD inc.
Traduction Leanna Brodie
Direction technique et régie Sophie Bergeron
Coordination de production Pénélope Bourque
Construction du décor Gauvin Fabrique

Déroulement : Vous vous présenterez à la billetterie du théâtre pour aviser le personnel de votre arrivée. On vous indiquera alors où est Violette et, à l’heure exacte de votre représentation, vous utiliserez l’ascenseur pour vous y rendre. Violette vous accueillera et vous mènera à une cabine où se déroulera l’expérience. Elle vous expliquera quelques facettes, puis vous aidera à enfiler le casque de réalité virtuelle (aussi appelé visiocasque, préalablement désinfecté). La vidéo de réalité virtuelle dure 17 minutes. À la fin, vous retirerez le casque par vous-même. Vous serez alors seul·e dans la cabine. Vous pourrez ensuite quitter la cabine et le théâtre, par le chemin qui vous sera indiqué.

Avertissement : Cette œuvre aborde le sujet des violences sexuelles et autres abus que peuvent vivre notamment des femmes en situation de handicap, mais ne présente aucune scènes graphiques à cet effet.

Accessibilité : Les représentations de VIOLETTE sont accessibles aux personnes à mobilité réduite ainsi qu’aux personnes en fauteuil roulant. Le personnel sur place pourra vous guider vers les toilettes adaptées, au besoin.

L’œuvre n’est pas disponible en langue des signes québécoise (LSQ), ni en American Sign Language (ASL), ni en audiodescription. Vous pouvez communiquer avec nous si vous désirez obtenir le texte avant votre représentation ou pour toute autre question : info@joejacketjohn.com ou 514-279-9821.

Pour davantage de détails et pour consulter les avertissements de santé, cliquez ICI.